March 4, 2011

Sheriff's Office Employees of the Year

Corrections Sgt. Mark Lindback, Detective Sgt. Dave Carey,
Explorer Alex Rojas, Reserve Deputy Rose Crum, Support
Employee Tamara Snider and Sheriff Bob Peryam.
In a special ceremony held February 22nd in Marathon, the Sheriff’s Office honored it’s Employees of the Year for 2010. The Employees of the Year are selected from those employees who receive quarterly awards for their performance throughout the year.

“The people chosen as Employees of the Year are truly the best of the best – they have proven themselves to be outstanding employees, as well as outstanding contributors to the community they serve,” said Sheriff Bob Peryam.

The yearly award winners received a plaque from the Sheriff in recognition of their exemplary work, and a badge to wear on their uniforms with the designation “Officer (or Employee) of the Year”. In addition, they each receive a check for $500.00 raised from private sponsors, and $1,000.00 from the Sheriff’s Office. The Cadet of the year receives $100.00 from private sponsors, with a matching amount from the Sheriff’s Office. Sponsors for this year’s ceremony are: Brian Schmitt of Coldwell Banker Schmitt Real Estate, David Ritz of Ocean Reef Community Association, Mike Forster of Mangrove Mikes Restaurant, and Michael Reckwerdt of Robbie’s Marina. The Sheriff’s Office sincerely thanks them for their support of local law enforcement, and thanks Hal Barrett for his help in finding those sponsors.

The Cormier Memorial Award, given to the Sheriff’s Office Sworn Law Enforcement Officer of the Year, is named for Deputy David Cormier, a Sheriff’s Reserve Deputy killed in the line of duty in a traffic accident in November of 1989. Members of the Cormier family attended the ceremony, as they do every year, in memory of their loved one who gave his life in service to the community.

Recipients of this year’s award are:

• Deputy Sheriff of the Year: Detective Sergeant David Carey
• Corrections Officer of the Year: Sergeant Mark Lindback
• Support Employee of the Year: Tamara Snider
• Reserve of the Year: Rose Crum
• Explorer of the Year: Alex Rojas

No comments:

Post a Comment